Fig Vinegars

I am a hoarder. No, not the little old lady kind who fill their 600 square foot home with a herd of 55 cats and a pair of parakeets. No, my hoarding takes place in my refrigerator.

Truth, ask anyone who has lived with me and they will attest that if there is a square inch of fridge space vacant, I can fill it.

Fortunately, loving to grow veggies, working at a food coop and knowing so many wonderful farmers, allows me to easily and cheaply keep up with my demand for filing vacant refrigerator space I think is not optimally being used.

FigVinegarI

As luck would have it, the other day my favorite cull bin item figs were hanging out in my work’s free box!  These spendy pints that only appear for a brief time in late summer/early fall, make me go crazy. Or as my one friend so appltly states when she’s gaga over something,  I go cookoo bananas over them! Something about their sugary-sweet velvety skin and  jelly-like seed filled bodies always evokes a major hoarding response. Get out of my way those figs are mine!

So low and behold, when 5 beautiful beyond ripe fig pints found their way into my fridge. and were now taking up space for my next potential project, I thought it be best to put them to use. Paging through one of my favorite cookbook authors Diana Henry”s new book Salt, Sugar, Smoke I came across a sweet fig vinegar recipe. Having become a little obsessed with fruit and vinegar infusions to curb my new found shrub habit, I thought I’d give it a whirl. The recipe left aprroximately one and a half pints remaining so I used my go-to vinegar fruit infusion recipe for the remaining figs.

Below is my recipe. I’m not posting the Henry recipe and suggest people check out  Salt, Sugar, Smoke from the local library or if you can read the tiny print, Food in Jar’s website has the recipe in one of their photos found here.

For both recipes I used turkish figs and for the second batch of the  sweet vinegar recipe I used kadota figs. More info on figs can be found here. Between the two recipes, I prefer the flavor of the Henry recipe. My recipe, however, is great to put into meat dishes or onions and vegetables and braise them with the fig vinegar. As always enjoy!

FigVinegarII

Fig Vinegar 

1 1/2 pint of figs

2 c. white wine vinegar

1 c. sugar (or sweetener of your choice…I would avoid stevia)

Wash the figs and remove the stems.

Place the figs in a warm, sterilized jar and set aside.

Put the vinegar in a medium pot over medium-high heat and bring to a gentle boil.  Add sugar and stir till dissolved.

When vinegar solution has returned to a gentle boil, remove from heat and pour the mixture over the figs.. Allow the liquid to cool and place a piece of wax or parchment paper over the opening and screw on a canning ring. Place in the refrigerator shaking daily for approximately 1 week.

After a week, strain the contents into a clean sterilized container and store in the fridge from 3-6 months.

FigVinegarIII

Leave a Reply

