SmokedSaltI

Smoked Salt

Success! For the past two years I have harbored an obsession for the bulk Frontier Yakima Apple Smoked Sea Salt at my co-op. It is SO good. Bison, shrimp, mushrooms, eggs, tofu, vegetables…I didn’t try it with any fruits of any sort but my god I’m sure it would somehow harmonize well with them and create some spectacular foodie masterpiece.  And lord don’t get me started with using it to cure bacon…

SmokedSaltI

Times are a changing though. No more bulk bin for this gal. Now I’ve got my own personalized smoked salt. Thanks to a little research and my handy smoker I can create a whole menagerie of smoked salts. The consensous among experiments past was that cold smoking, large chunks of salt and a little added moisture to the smoking container retained the best flavor.

SmokedSaltII

For this experiment I used a Bradley Smoker and chunky red rock salt from Utah. If you don’t have a smoker, here is a feed on Serious Eats on ideas about creating your own smoking contraption.  DO try this and let me know how it goes!

SmokedSaltIII_1

Smoked Salt

1/4 c. large chunk pure salt (do not used iodized or very fine salt)

wood or smoker bisquettes for smoking (I used maple and pecan)

Place the salt in your smoking device and spread the chunks out so that they are not clumped and the smoke can reach all exposed surface areas. (I set my salt in a colander and placed it in my smoker. Parchment paper if you are cold smoking or aluminum foil if you are hot smoking with holes punched in the paper or foil will allow the smoke to aerate through the salt).

Place a small dish of water in the smoking device to allow a bit of moisture to help with smoking.

Smoke the salt for at least 12 hours or longer to ensure all surface areas absorbs the lovely smoke flavor.

After 12 or more hours remove and use on EVERYTHING.

Leave a Reply

