GrapeSodaI

Grape Soda Shrub

Today it hit 20 degrees…above zero I might add. Tropical paradise, I think so!

The sun was shinning, the grass was growing. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating about the grass, but I swear I could hear some Kentucky Blue pondering a gander at the brilliant blue sky this afternoon. Honest!

Whatever the reasons, may they be false grass whispers or just some good ol’ natural vitamin D, the mercury hitting 20 has inspired me to blog again. Hooray!

What’s up this week in the previously frozen Minneapolis tundra? Grape shrub!

In honor of the warming trend and me headed out to prune my grapes this weekend, I raided my preserves cabinet of canned King of the North Grape juice. (Much thanks to a certain special lady for this little gem). 

GrapeSodaI

Behold, a refreshing 100% grape soda juice shrub minus the high fructose corn syrup and whatever else Coke, Pespi, etc, decided to develop and inject for “enhanced” taste and cancer causing drinking pleasure.  Only pure grapie goodness, with a splash of balsamic vinegar and sparkling water.

Hold on tight kids it will be hammock lounging weather before you know it!

GrapeSodaII

Grape Juice Soda Shrub

1/3 cup grape juice (100% grape juice the real deal!)

2/3 cup sparkling water

1-2 tsp. balsamic vinegar

Mix the grape juice, sparkling water and vinegar together in a glass. Add ice cubes or opt to set your drink to chill in the snow bank.

Leave a Reply

